Skip to content

Canon 350D and Ubuntu Upgrade

May 17, 2008
Every time I upgrade my Ubuntu, some problems appear in using my Canon 350D digital camera. This time, after upgrading from Ubuntu 7.10 (Gusty Gibbon) to Ubuntu 8.04 LTS (Hardy), two strange things happened:

First of all, when I connected my camera to USB port, F-Spot hoped into my desktop. Come on, I want my cool gthumbs back. Well, here is the configuration at “System > Preferences > Removable Drives and Media”. Go to the Cameras tab, and replace the Digital Camera command from “f-sport-import” with “gthumb –import-photos” :)
Then the main problem which gave me this strange error code, when using gthumbs:

An error occurred in the io-library (‘Could not claim the USB device’): Could not claim interface 0 (Operation not permitted). Make sure no other program or kernel module (such as Sec2xx, stv680, spca50x) is using the device and you have read/write access to the device.

Well, thanks to Ubuntu’s great open-source community I found my answer in the launchpad, exactly down here ( https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/gphoto2/+bug/189506 ).

Here is what I did:

/usr/lib/libgphoto2/print-camera-list udev-rules group plugdev > /etc/udev/rules.d/45-libgphoto2.rules

/usr/lib/libgphoto2/print-camera-list hal-fdi > /usr/share/hal/fdi/information/10freedesktop/10-camera-libgphoto2.fdi

And now everything works fine and I can get my photos from Shomal trip and Park-e-Jamshidieh. :)

From → linux

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

